Jim Driscoll's Blog

Notes on Technology and the Web

IDEs for the Modern Web

with 3 comments

As with the discussion of Thin Server, if you’ve already got a favorite IDE for the Modern Web, feel free to skip forward. It’s unlikely that I’m going to change your mind.

A programmer without tools is a sad little thing. Reduced to coding in vi like some sort of caveman, or worse, edlin, like an animal.

So, first order of business was to do a quick survey of what kind of IDEs folks were using for modern Web Development.

If you’re a Java programmer, you probably use Eclipse, IntelliJ IDEA, or even Netbeans (which is actually my favorite for small projects). And while these can tackle the job of web programming, I wanted something purpose built for the task – I didn’t intend to do any Java work as part of this process, and so there was no need for any of the nice features those tools give you.

I wanted to pick a few different tools with different workflow characteristics, and I didn’t want to spend any money up front, though I’d be happy to license whichever I liked, as long as it was in the sub-$100 range. Quickly, I was able to narrow down the field to three, and at this point, I’ve tried all of them for about two weeks each.

The Three Candidates

  • WebStorm, a “does everything” IDE from JetBrains
  • Sublime Text 2, a visual editor which relies more on outside processes than built in functions
  • Brackets, an editor built entirely in JavaScript, extensible in JavaScript as well

Brackets

I picked Brackets first, because it was entirely free and open source – meaning, in part, that I’d never have to pay for it even if I liked it. Also, Brackets had also gotten a lot of positive buzz at the HTML5 Dev Conference, and I certainly wanted to see what the fuss was about.

Brackets is currently under very active development, and was at Sprint 31 at the time I tried it. (It’s already in Sprint 34 at the time of this writing.)

At first, I have to say I really quite liked it. It’s surprisingly small and fast, and since it’s extensible in JavaScript, there are any number of user written plugin which you can adopt into your workflow. In particular, I immediately wanted to add code folding, as well as jshint and htmlhint support, as well as additional themes. There was even a code completion plugin (and although it was pretty primitive, without inferences, it generally got the job done).

With these plugins installed, Brackets was a rather useful lightweight IDE, with active syntax highlighting, code folding, as well a color theme I could actually read.

But… it’s obvious that Brackets is still in it’s early days. The plugins would sometimes interfere with each other, and bulk editing operations weren’t really fully there yet.

Additionally, Brackets offered integration with Chrome for debugging – and when it worked, it was wonderful – but it would often get wedged, and require a restart of Chrome and Brackets to resume.

So while I’ll definitely be watching Brackets closely over the next year, it’s not for me at this time.

WebStorm

Reportedly an outgrowth of IDEA’s popular PHPStorm tool, WebStorm will be familiar to anyone who’s done work in IntelliJ IDEA. The interface is pretty much the same, the inspectors are the same, and so on. So, if you love working in IntelliJ, then the odds are good that you’ll love working in WebStorm.

I have to admit that I never really loved working in IntelliJ. While there are an endless number of knobs you can fiddle with to get your desired behavior, it’s always been a common problem for me that I’ll end up burning 30 minutes of precious coding time trying to find the right option.

As one example, an errant right click in my HTML document resulted in the HTML inspector displaying an alarming number of (incorrect) errors in my code. Apparently, I’d accidentally changed how the inspector operated. You’d think that that wouldn’t take long to find and correct… but as usual, it was about 20 minutes of looking.

WebStorm also offered a builtin build system, which again is very similar to the one that’s found in IntelliJ. While this was handy when I was just starting out, it began to chafe a bit when I tried integrating external build tools – which, I was reminded, was one of the things that frustrated me about IntelliJ as well.

I did run into one significant bug. Like Brackets, WebStorm integrates with Chrome to do debugging, via a Chrome plugin. The plugin allows you to use the very nice IDEA debugging interface, and never need to leave your IDE.

In principle, this is awesome. In practice, not so much. Like Brackets, this communication could easily become wedged, and require a restart to resume. In the end, I ended up just using Chrome’s most excellent debug tools right in the browser, and you know what? Staying inside the IDE is overrated. I lost almost nothing (except frustration) by having to swap back and forth between the two toolsets.

In the end, I certainly liked WebStorm more than Brackets – it was stable and almost bug free. But IDEA’s insistence on controlling the entire build infrastructure led me to consider using what was for me a surprising choice – Sublime Text, an editor which was almost the polar opposite of the IDEs I’ve been using for the last 10 years.

Sublime Text

In the third stage of my project (which I’ll detail at length in a later post), I moved to using a Yeoman setup with Grunt (a make-like task runner). Rather than learn how to integrate WebStorm into the build system that Yeoman sets up for you as part of installation, I opted to try a real departure from the classic “everything in the tool” IDE.

Sublime Text is a text editor, not an IDE, and I have to admit to a serious bias against using text editors for development. I was slow to move off of them (I was a vi guy for the longest time) when IDEs first came out, but I just couldn’t imagine giving up inline error highlighting. Because, when you think about it, what’s an IDE for? Build, debug, error highlight, edit. Build was being handled (quite well) by grunt. Debug was already being done in browser… and Sublime Text is truly a wonderful text editor.

Sublime Text won me over. Want to edit every matching phrase in a file? It’s only a couple of keystrokes (with no annoying GUI). In fact, you could say that about almost everything in Sublime – no annoying GUI. Nothing that gets in your way.

And inline errors? Grunt handles that. There’s a pretty simple configuration that will run all your files through jshint/jslint and htmlhint on every save, as well as automatically running your tests, all running as a background watch process. Just watch the terminal output in a separate window.

So much to my surprise, I’ll probably be shelling out for a Sublime license. Not the outcome I was expecting.

YMMV

Of course, that might not be your conclusion. If you like the idea of extending your IDE’s behavior in JavaScript, then Brackets is something you should check out. I’ve got every confidence that they’ll work out their bugs.

And if you like IntelliJ, definitely try out WebStorm, you’ll almost certainly like that too.

Next, let’s look at one last tool, then I can start to code.

Written by jamesgdriscoll

December 22, 2013 at 10:26 AM

Posted in JavaScript, tools

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. what if you already knew how to control each “knob” in webstorm? I wonder if that will put webstorm on top. It takes 6mon to an year to get used to IntelliJ, once you are hooked, nothing comes close,

    Some One

    April 16, 2014 at 5:15 AM

    • From my article: “if you love working in IntelliJ, then the odds are good that you’ll love working in WebStorm.”

      If you’re already used to the IntelliJ menu system, keybindings and workflow, you’re going to like WebStorm. It’s very, very similar in all those areas.

      jamesgdriscoll

      April 16, 2014 at 9:39 AM

  2. brackets is good 🙂

    mahisaajy

    April 1, 2015 at 9:32 AM


Leave a Reply

